What’s in a Name?

01Dec13

At first I was really pleased when I asked the bloke who fixed my central heating what radio station he listens to. From what he told me about his favorite on-air features I could tell it was the radio station I’ve just started working for. Then he called the station “Dave”.

The name of the radio station is “Jack”. Every time I corrected him, he looked at me sideways as if I was the one who’d got it wrong. He said he listens all of the time and loves listening to “Dave”.

We have a “station voice” who reads all of the on-air slogans and does some funny lines in-between the songs. They’re recorded three times a week, each session takes about ten minutes. We edit them up and a computer plays them out. As far as this heating engineer is concerned, they’re all done live. “He works SOME hours that bloke! Every time I turn on the radio, there he is!” he said.

I’ve talked to a lot of people who work in radio about what this bloke said and all of them are flabbergasted. I don’t know why they’re so shocked and stunned. Do they know how their central heating works? Can they name the make of their boiler?

Craic on!

Listen to the latest Mack Nuggets at http://www.mackmedia.co.uk 



No Responses Yet to “What’s in a Name?”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment