A Snail of Two Cities

28Nov13

It’s amazing how different the world looks at different times of the day.

Yesterday, I didn’t have to get to work till after 7:30am. I start on the Breakfast Show on Jack FM in Hertfordshire next week so it was a useful exercise. I sat in bumper-to-bumper traffic southbound on the A1 like a lot of my listeners will do every morning.

Today I had to get to JACK FM before 6am because I was co-hosting with the current Breakfast Show team. When I got in the car at 5:15am, I noticed a baby snail was sitting on top of my door mirror. This snail was tiny, about half the size of a pea. It must have taken him all night to climb up there from the ground. I admired his spirit.

As I drove off, it felt nice having a travelling companion. Every time I looked out of the window, there he was enjoying the dawn with me but on the A1, I noticed he had gone. Obviously, with hardly any traffic at that time of the morning, I was going too fast for him and he couldn’t hang on any longer. I’m sure he would have been crushed by one of the many vehicles that followed me on what is one of the busiest roads into London.

If I’d set off a couple of hours later he would have survived. In fact, based on what I learned by observing the traffic yesterday, he would have had plenty of time to cross the road and get to safety before anything started to move.

Craic on!

Listen to the latest Mack Nuggets at http://www.mackmedia.co.uk

