Mack’s Craic

16Apr13

Rust in peace

I’ve been on so many radio stations lately I’m getting confused. It doesn’t help that some days I’ve been on one radio station in the morning and a different one in the afternoon. I’ve found myself asking, “Am I on the radio now?” In the car yesterday approaching some traffic lights, they changed to red, I saw the red light come on and without thinking gave a time call and weather forecast! I can’t listen to the radio in the car anymore because whenever a long song comes on, I start thinking I’m missing a great chance to go to the toilet. Mind you, thinking I might be on the radio does have it’s advantages, I now tell tele-sales people, “I’m sorry, you’re not the right caller!”

It’s amazing what you see as you travel around this little country of ours. The other day I saw the rustiest, crappiest fifty year old Triumph Herald parked on the side of the road. The funny thing was it had a huge red Club-lock on the steering wheel. I’m guessing the owner didn’t want anyone to steal the Club-lock! Those things are expensive!

The more I think about my life right now, filling in on radio stations all over the UK, the more I realize I’ve become the radio equivalent of a supply teacher. If you’ve been listening, please don’t mess with me like we used to with supply teachers at our school. I know there’s no such thing as “No homework Tuesday”, I know who drew the willy on the blackboard and if I catch anyone super gluing ANYTHING, I’ll make you ALL stay back during your lunch time. The good news is, if you behave nicely and finish all of your work on time, we can play hangman!

Craic on!

Check out the latest Mack Nuggets at http://www.mackmedia.co.uk

