Mack’s Craic

30Sep12
Time Out

Time Out

We’re going around the world in twenty-five days, one day for every year we’ve been married.

Day 9 Whangarei:  

Some people say New Zealand is in a time warp. The old joke went, “When you land in Auckland the pilot tells you to change your watch to local time by turning it back twenty years”.

That’s a bit unfair; the truth is if something works, Kiwis tend to stick with it. At Kensington petrol station in Whangarei, a bloke puts the petrol in for you, cleans your windscreen, checks your oil, and takes your money. You don’t even get out of the car. It’s not a gimmick; they’ve always done it that way. In the supermarket, they pack all of your groceries into bags for you. We went to pick up a few things at ‘Countdown’ and I was so impressed, I got my phone out and tried to video the girl packing the bags. Unfortunately she noticed what I was up to and I had to stop. I’m not sure if we can go back to Countdown in case there’s a secret panic button they can hit when a creepy bloke with a plastic bag fetish shows up to videos check-out chicks.

It’s been great being back in Julie’s home town and catching up with her family. There’s only been one awkward moment so far. Julie was in a gift shop with her sister Lynette who’s four years older than her. The shop assistant said, “You two MUST be mother and daughter!”

What was that about New Zealand being in a time warp?

There’s a Craic around the world!

Check out my demo: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mPfKoavXH9I

One Response to “Mack’s Craic”

  1. I’m gone to say to my little brother, that he should also go to see this weblog on regular basis to get updated from hottest reports.



