Mack’s Craic

04Sep11

I present a talk show on the radio, so I’m often accused of having a political agenda. On Friday I had a caller say I was “in the pocket” of the Labour party. Another caller accused me of socializing with the Conservatives. The website  set up to oppose the building of wind turbines at the Honda car plant has audio from one of my shows to promote their campaign and the website that supports the turbines has audio from another one of my shows to promote THEIR campaign.  I’m not sure how I can be Labour AND Conservative, pro AND anti wind turbines. The truth is, it’s all about balance. If I have a guest on the air, I’m going to challenge their point of view. If I didn’t then I would have an agenda.

If you’d like my actual political view, I’ll have it for you at the end of the Craic.

OK, it’s September, is that too early to turn the heating on? Hey, I wanted to turn it on in August. Imagine how cold it would be if we didn’t have global warming!

Hey Boy Racer in your mum’s hatchback. If you’re going to play your music that loud with the windows down, at least play some decent music!

Thanks for calling the radio show with your Mack’s Facts. Here’s my favorite ten from this week:

  1. Rudeness is the weak person’s imitation of strength.
  2. Our lives are storybooks we write for ourselves illustrated with the people we meet.
  3. Never ruin an apology with an excuse.
  4. Duct tape is like the Force. It has a dark side, a light side and it holds the universe together.
  5. Let your past make you better, not bitter.
  6. If you haven’t grown up by the age of fifty, you don’t have to.
  7. For every minute you’re grumpy, you lose 60 seconds of happiness.
  8. The only place you’ll find success BEFORE work, is in the dictionary.
  9. Just when the caterpillar thought the world was over, he turned into a butterfly.
  10. Don’t fit in, you were born to stand out.

So my political view; the answer to what I believe is in the word itself, “politics”. It’s a word in two parts. The first part of the word, “poli” comes from the Latin for “many” and the second part of the word, “tics”; which means blood sucking parasites. 

I’ll be here when you’re looking for Craics!

Check out the Mack Nuggets at www.mackmedia.co.uk .

Listen to the Graham Mack Breakfast Show Podcast on iTunes.

