31Jul11

He ain't heavy, he's my Buddha

The Mackmobile is wired for sound! The new audio system I’ve had fitted is superb; it’s got everything, DAB, USB, Aux. I can even plug my phone into it and play podcasts through it. I’ve got all the songs I’m learning for The Graham Mack Rock Band playing off a memory stick and haven’t even tried out the CD player yet! I was worried about the reception on the DAB Radio but it sounds great! With DAB, I really think they should have concentrated on getting them in cars first. When people realized how good they were, they’d be more likely to make sure they got DAB the next time they bought a radio for the house. DAB is more than ten years old and I don’t know of a car maker that fits them as standard. Get that right and everything else will follow.

There’s talk of an analogue radio switch-off to encourage the take up of DAB. I think that’s a mistake, there’s nothing wrong with FM. Now AM, well come on, that IS rubbish. The BBC need to make big savings right now. The first thing they should do is switch off all of their AM transmitters. All of their local services are on FM as well anyway and if you want to listen to 5Live and Radio 4 Long Wave, maybe you should have to buy a DAB set. Most people go to those stations for sport and isn’t it sport that drives the take up of Pay TV boxes?

The more I find out about Buddhism, the more the teachings of Buddha appeal to me. I’ve downloaded a Buddha quotes app on my iPhone and really like the idea of enlightenment. I spoke to some Buddhists at the Mela inSwindonon Saturday and they sold me a book. Well that enlightened my wallet by thirteen quid. It was actually £12.99 but she didn’t have any change. I suppose that’s my first lesson, “Change must come from within”.

I’m thinking of learning how to meditate. I reckon it’ll be better than sitting around doing nothing.

Thanks for all of the Mack’s Facts you’ve been calling into the radio show. Here’s this week’s Top Ten:

  1. Everyone seems normal until you get to know them.
  2. Don’t take life too seriously. No one gets out alive.
  3. Men should never wear wigs.
  4. All visitors bring happiness. Some by arriving, some by leaving.
  5. It’s nice to be important but it’s more important to be nice.
  6. Lead from the back, others will think THEY are in front.
  7. If you see someone without a smile, give them one of yours.
  8. Never pass up the opportunity to have a wee.
  9. Life is like a Ferrari, it’s too fast and hardly anyone can afford one.
  10.  Every day is a gift, that’s why it’s called the present.

Craics you later!

Check out the Mack Nuggets at www.mackmedia.co.uk .

Listen to the Graham Mack Breakfast Show Podcast on iTunes.

